17 Comments
deletedAug 11, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

I'm on vacation on the Oregon Coast so of course I had to visit the local bookstores. At one I bought Shark Heart: A Love Story. I don't even know how to begin to describe this book, except that it is amazing. The protagonists, Wren and Lewis fall in love and marry--and a week later Lewis realizes he is turning into a great white shark. Yes, it sounds ridiculous but it is played straight (with others turning into dragons, zebras, etc.) and becomes a metaphor for all the real diseases we face. I read it in two days.

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I have read Flicker In The Dark and loved it! I absolutely love books that weave between the past and the present or between characters. My favorite books that got me into historical fiction were by Susan Howatch, Penmarric being my favorite. They weave between the characters and I just love the different viewpoints you get that way.

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Just finished Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll.

It was a little bit of a slow start for me, but I stuck with and I'm glad I did.

Great book, well written and very moving.

Now to watch the adaptation on Netflix and rip it apart...lol

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Spent the week reading the Evan Delaney series by Meg Gardiner - wow! Halfway through Deadly Means by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson, and have lined up Stephen King's Bill Hodges Trilogy.

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

This has been a fun week of reading for me. I read Ruth Ware's Zero Days and loved the main character's job that was integral to the story. It was a fun read. I also read Candice Fox's Fire with Fire. The characters yanked me into the story on page one, and I loved them so much I read it in one day. I'm currently reading Malibu Burning by Lee Goldberg. It's about arson investigators, the Santa Anna winds, and an intelligent criminal who plans to capitalize on the inferno. Loving it so far.

Expand full comment
Aug 12, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I am stunned by her writing. Took a Stephen King recommendation for me to find her. So grateful. 😀

Expand full comment

Absolutely! 😀

Expand full comment