5 Comments
Sep 8, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

It feels like all things book related are in flux, and as a reader I just want a good book. As a wanna be published writer, I'd like the industry to get it together so it can be more stable. Yes, I read Nathan Bransford's blog that you linked. Lots of things to think about this weekend.

As for what I'm reading, I'm currently devouring GOOD RICH PEOPLE by Eliza Jane Brazier. I'm halfway through the book and have no idea how it's going to end. It's unsettling and has quite a few twisty surprises already. As I'm having surgery this week, I'm sure I'll finish it and a few others. If you start GRP and find the first POV unlikeable like I did, stick with it. You'll still dislike her, but the second POV makes it all worth it. I'm including the best description of the book I've seen so far.

“Fizzy and hilarious, dangerous and outrageous. It’s like chugging a flute of champagne that’s been lit on fire. I loved the hell out of it.”

—Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of There’s Someone Inside Your House

Expand full comment

#FridayReads

The Reformatory by Tananarive Due

A Haunting on the Hill by Elizabeth Hand

The Paleontologist by Luke Dumas

My Darling Girl by Jennifer McMahon

Nightwatching by Tracy Sierra

Fever House by Keith Rosson

Expand full comment

Read Fallen by Lauren Kate. First in a series and it was excellent! Young adult with fallen angels.

Started Payback in Death by JD Robb. The Eve Dallas series is outstanding!

Expand full comment

Currently reading JD Robb's PAYBACK IN DEATH and just finished (late last night) SKIES OF ASH by Rachel Howzell Hall. Next up will be NORTH OF NOWHERE by Allison Brennan. I'm about to head on a couple of flights and tend to do quite a lot of reading when I fly, so I'm looking forward to tackling a section of the TBR pile.

Expand full comment