22 Comments
Jul 15, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I’m reading ‘The Plea’, book 2, Eddie Flynn series. It feels like Jack Reacher meets Lincoln Lawyer. Not deep but entertaining.

For a little suspense I’m reading Rawblood by Catriona Ward. Just started it.

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I need a brain break, so I'm reading a book of essays by Casey Wilson (of ABC's "Happy Endings" fame!) called THE WRECKAGE OF MY PRESENCE. Silly, poignant, and exactly what I need to wind down before I go to bed.

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I lived in Denver for over 30 years until we moved to TX 2 .5 years ago. I hope you enjoyed it.

I’m reading Rachel Howzell Hall’s What Never Happened and loving it. That’s a capital L!

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

The Puzzle Master was amazing!

My current reads are:

The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley

Mister Magic by Kiersten White

Couple Found Slain: After a Family Murder by Mikita Brottman

The Book of Living Secrets by Madeleine Roux

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I lived in Denver for over 30 years until we moved to TX 2 .5 years ago. I hope you enjoyed it.

I’m reading Rachel Howzell Hall’s What Never Happened and loving it. That’s a capital L!

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I lived in Denver for over 30 years until we moved to TX 2 .5 years ago. I hope you enjoyed it.

I’m reading Rachel Howzell Hall’s What Never Happened and loving it. That’s a capital L!

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Just finished Barbara Heisman's FLIGHT PATTERNS (HarperCollins, 2023), a lovely reminder that science, like writing, comes from paying attention . . . and wondering. I'd recommend this book for any birdlover (and who could not love birds?) who's ever wondered about migration. What do we know? How do we know it? What difference does it make? --- Heisman chases the answers to these and other questions. Good notes. Photos. Meticulous source documentation; you don't have to know or even pay attention as you read, but it's nice to have these and a list of additional resources if there's something you want to chase further. One of my cheap thrills this summer was Anamalia, a poetry workshop with Nickole Brown, that spun me into a happy combo of observation, research, and curiosity about a bird's life. FLIGHT PATTERNS shows what humans have learned about bird migration and the connections among reseachers. Don't plan on single-sitting reading. Go chapteer by chapter and mull over what you've read.

Expand full comment

I've been writing a lot this week, and there was just not enough time to do a lot of reading. The Puzzle Master sounds intriguing. I'll give it a try once I come up for air again. 😊😊

Expand full comment
deletedJul 14, 2023·edited Jul 14, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison
Comment deleted
Expand full comment