27 Comments
Feb 9Liked by J.T. Ellison

I am reading THE WINDSOR KNOT by SJ Bennett. And it's just delightful. Earlier this week, I finished VE Schwab's THE FRAGILE THREADS OF POWER, also wonderful.

Expand full comment
Feb 9Liked by J.T. Ellison

Happy birthday to your Mom!!

I'm reading House of Flame and Shadow by the incredible Sarah J Maas. This book is huge and I'm just over halfway through. I've read a few reviews where some were disappointed in it, but I'm thoroughly enjoying it...spoiler alert....there's a crossover with another of her series in this book! I actually squealed like a little girl!!

Expand full comment

I'm reading a bunch of ARCs for upcoming review assignments - yay!

Expand full comment
founding
Feb 9Liked by J.T. Ellison

Peanut M&Ms - always a good choice.

Expand full comment

87! What an accomplishment. Happy Birthday to your mom. 🥳 ~ I love writers' retreats. I've attend several in the UK. Any great ones in the US you can recommend?

Expand full comment

Enjoy your quiet, tea, and peanut m&ms -- sounds like a great writing retreat!

I'm working my way through the second All Souls book... Wolf Hall... War & Peace. Nothing too exciting or earth shattering in the reading department -- though Mantel makes me want to simultaneously throw in the towel AND play with words endlessly on paper.

I'm coming to grips with how few books I may be finishing, this year, reading all these tomes!

Expand full comment
Feb 9Liked by J.T. Ellison

Happy Birthday to your mom!! And to you for all that writing and more writing! It's been a slow reading week for me but that's okay. I have two books that are waiting for me to read--THE NORTH WOODS by Daniel Mason and Hank Phillipi Ryan's book ONE WRONG WORD. I did read THE SEARCH PARTY by Hannah Richell. The best way to describe it is like a sunny day at the beach that is suddenly disrupted by a huge storm, and you're caught in the water where the waves pound you. One after another. I enjoyed the relentless pounding. It's a story of family, friends, jealousy and secrets. Everyone has at least one.

I hope y'all have a great weekend. Oh, and I wanted to share some good news. My dad's cancer (stage 4) is responding well to the chemo. Gotta celebrate the wins.

Expand full comment
Feb 9·edited Feb 9Liked by J.T. Ellison

Happy 87th Birthday to your mom!! 🎉 It’s been another doozy of a week, so I’m still not done with Amina Akhtar’s Almost Surely Dead. I’ll finish this weekend and start First Lie Wins. I can’t wait for the next book and that short story. These Cold Strangers is one of the best short stories I’ve ever read.

Expand full comment
Feb 10Liked by J.T. Ellison

Happy Birthday to your mom!

Heads Will Roll by Josh Winning

House of Bone and Rain by Gabino Iglesias

The London Séance Society by Sarah Penner

Starling House by Alix E. Harrow

Bury Your Gays by Chuck Tingle

Expand full comment