35 Comments

Happy reading! I just finished a historical mystery that I'm blurbing for an Asheville author. I'm also reading Chenneville (sp?) by Paulette Jiles and Lioness by Mark Powell. Have a wonderful weekend!!

Expand full comment

Well we are reading very slowly, so I'm sure you'll be able to catch up!

Expand full comment
Feb 23Liked by J.T. Ellison

I'm on a non-fiction kick lately. I just finished THE STRANGER IN THE WOODS by Michael Finkel about the North Pond Hermit of Maine. That was FASCINATING. And I started reading NOTES ON A SILENCING by Lacy Crawford. I think this one is going to break my heart - I already feel the cracks forming. Vanessa Lillie's BLOOD SISTERS is also on deck. I am looking forward to filling my fiction well. :)

Expand full comment
Feb 23Liked by J.T. Ellison

I finally got back into reading this week. It's amazing how much clearer the mind is and how much I wanted to read after getting off the narcotics. I'm 11 days post surgery, feeling pretty good and working part time from home. We were supposed to be leaving TODAY for a trip to FL, but the surgeon said no....with how nice the weather has been here, I guess it's not too much of a hardship. I can deal with 60 to 70 degree weather in Feb!!

I finally finished House of Flame and Shadow by Sarah J Maas. It was really good. Some people complained about the multiple pov and the crossover to another series, but I loved both of these elements!!

I also read Simply the Best by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. I've been reading this author for YEARS and she never disappoints!

I work for a radio station and we're gearing up for first girls state basketball and then boys...so it'll be a busy couple of weeks for myself and my co-workers! 🏀🏀

Expand full comment

Congrats on the next step in the long line of hard work it's taken to move AVBT along!

So many good books! Can't wait for Marybeth's!! Cliff was just telling me about the new Gray Man book. He devoured those last year on audio -- not sure he's started this one yet but likely will soon!

I've been on a bit of a "writing craft" and poetry bender this week, when I've had reading time that isn't relegated to the slow reads -- which I haven't minded at all. Both the reading and writing of poetry have been a grounding practice coming back to me in the decrease of digital tech but not enough time for longform. I've missed it!

Expand full comment
Feb 23Liked by J.T. Ellison

Yay to finishing page proofs!!! This has been an excellent week for reading it sounds like. I’m finally starting to be able to read again after being sick for almost two weeks. I finished Last to Vanish by Megan Miranda and I’m going to start an arc of Negative Tilt a short story collection by Bobby Mathew’s.

Expand full comment
Feb 23Liked by J.T. Ellison

Congratulations on the page proofs! You’re going to love The New Couple in 5B. It’s fantastic. My coworkers just did a nonfiction book discussion on The Art Thief by Michael Finkel and I heRd lots of gasping. NF fans might enjoy it. I finished Bury Your Gays by Chuck Tingle and loved it. He made me cry. So good! It was a great blend of horror, social issues, lgbtqia+ issues, and heart.

House of Bone and Rain by Gabino Iglesias

The Dead Take the A Train by Cassandra Khaw and Richard Kadrey

Island Witch by Amanda Jayatissa

Her Majesty's Royal Coven by Juno Dawson

The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes

Expand full comment
Feb 23Liked by J.T. Ellison

Cheers to you for finishing your page proofs for AVBT!! And on to writing HLN'S story. I had a question about your craft series that I've been thinking about since I read your post. Did the beats you used to outline HLN match the beats that Bard provided for you or are they different? I know you used Jesse Q. Sutanto's and SAVE THE CAT's beats, but did you use them all or was it a mixture of things?

As for reading, I've been a bit slow due to all things basketball, dance, and gymnastics. Tonight, we have a playoff game and tomorrow we have a dance competition. It will be fun but time consuming. I'm in the midst of reading a memoir by Anthony Ray Hinton, THE SUN DOES SHINE. He spent 30 years on death row for a crime he didn't commit. I read the forward by his lawyer and the way he talks about how Anthony kept his sense of humor and goodness through it all intrigued me. I'm hoping as I continue, I can spot the little nuggets Anthony used to get him through the hard times and employ them in my own life, which is comparatively way easier but can still be trying at times.

Expand full comment
Feb 24·edited Feb 24Liked by J.T. Ellison

No reading for me. Busy developing three scripts (not mine), and there's just no more brain space for anything else. 💛 ~ And love Lisa Unger. ~ My honest opinion and I never like to say anything bad about any writer (until now)... usually, if I say nothing, it means I didn't like it. I couldn't believe the hype A.J. Finn received with The Woman in the Window was grotesque. It was overwritten. All I remember were the many adjectives and adverbs. And after all of it, he made up a story about a brain tumor to sell his book or more books. I can't tolerate lies like that. So, his books are a big no-no for me.

Expand full comment

Thank you, my friend! Hope you love THE NEW COUPLE IN 5B! xo

Expand full comment

Thanks for reading, my friend! Hope you love it! xo

Expand full comment