65 Comments
Feb 2Liked by J.T. Ellison

It's so important to take care of yourself, both mentally and physically!!

The Unmaking of June Farrow was an incredible book and I didn't see the ending coming...so good!!

I read The Missing Witness by Allison Brennan. I love all of her books and this was excellent!

I also read The Night Island by the wonderful Jayne Ann Krentz. I watched a little bit of your Facebook live with her, but I need to go back and finish it.

It's almost spring like here this week in Nebraska, but it's just Feb...I'm sure winter isn't done with us yet!

Expand full comment

I love my Moleskine & Composition notebooks!

Expand full comment

I think your decision to streamline and make room for further healing is so, so wise. It’s amazing how much time it can take but it’s worth it, and you cannot be everywhere and everything to everyone!

I love the B5 size! I use a moleskin hardcover dotted notebook for my work logbook and I just love the way that size feels, it’s about the same as all my other assorted notebooks: planner, morning pages, project planner, which I love, too.

Expand full comment
Feb 2Liked by J.T. Ellison

I’m reading The Key to Living a Contented Life by Mary Flaherty, very insightful! I’m looking forward to reading The Women by Kristin Hannah when it comes out next week.

Expand full comment
Feb 2Liked by J.T. Ellison

I was planning on starting First Lie Wins last night, but Amina Ahktar’s Almost Surely Dead came out yesterday so I had to start that! I’m also 3 books behind on Allison Brennan’s books. So I have to fix that!

Expand full comment
Feb 2Liked by J.T. Ellison

I just finished The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins, because another writer said this was the best book ever. And its weird, violent and fun. Very interesting and needs to be reread.

Now started Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin. Impressive.

Expand full comment

I like a drugstore spiral notebook or an XL (?) Moleskine. I used to be a InkJoy gel pen devotee but I need a new favorite; the InkJoys are too fine/dry -- I need something with a little more presence on the page for my aging eyes. :-)

Expand full comment
Feb 2Liked by J.T. Ellison

I'm glad to read that you're taking control of your health. I find it inspiring when a person is real about the messiness of their life. (along with the good.) So sorry you cried. I, myself, had a meltdown last weekend when my husband returned from a weeklong work trip. I realized I was lonely, but I hadn't realized he was the substitute for all my friends back in Colorado until he was gone. I'm trying to connect with my community in an online way and figure out here in Texas how to make new connections. My friend from Tennessee has a new job, and sadly, she's so busy we don't meet up anymore. So, I'm needing to branch out more. I signed up for a conference here in Dallas in June and one of my friends is meeting up with me to go to it too. Something to look forward to.

I'm glad you enjoyed THE HEIRESS and are reading THE FIRST LIE WINS. I agree the unreliable narrator is enjoying a great run. I read Ahmina Akhtar's ALMOST SURELY DEAD. It was a fun read, and I'm intrigued by other cultures' folklore, especially jinns. I started V.E. Schwab's THE FRAGILE THREADS OF POWER. For some reason, I couldn't get into it, and I'm 90 pages in. I'm not sure why it's not working for me, but I decided today to put it aside and start a different book. I'm not sure yet what it'll be.

Expand full comment
Feb 2Liked by J.T. Ellison

I'm sorry to read about the EDS diagnosis. Pain is never fun. I think breaking down at yoga was your body telling you, it's not fooling around. I hope rest helps. You seem to always be doing 25 things at once. We will be here even if you slow down some.

Expand full comment
Feb 2Liked by J.T. Ellison

#FridayReads

House of Bone and Rain by Gabino Iglesias

Out of the Blue by Jason June

Past Crimes by Jason Pinter

Starling House by Alix E. Harrow

The London Séance Society by Sarah Penner

The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn by Amber Logan

Sending lots of love and hugs, JT. Aging is no joke, and making physical and mental health a priority is a tough job. If you haven't already read it, I highly recommend The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn by Amber Logan. It's a lovely Gothic adult retelling of the children's book The Secret Garden set in Japan. It also handles grief and pain beautifully. I am slowly savoring it.

Expand full comment

I read FIRST LIE WINS recently too and enjoyed it. I’m a fan of unreliable narrators—just finished NO ONE CAN KNOW by Kate Alice Marshall which is in a very similar vein.

I’m curious, how do you “automate” your Substack posts to go out to your other SM platforms? Or do you just mean manually sharing the link upon publishing, through Substack’s “share to” buttons?

Also: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ (you definitely deserve the gold stars for that outline!)

Expand full comment

Oh, I hope yoga will help you feel better. I've been practicing yoga for many years and what i love the most about it, there's no competition. It's all about you and your body. I don't bend like a pretzel 😂, and nobody cares. My favorite notebook comes in different sizes. I use the large one. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07BH7J8YB/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Expand full comment

Oh dip! (The Good Place - IYKYK) I didn’t see the hypermobile EDS bit before…I just started physical therapy this week for the same thing. Very very over being in pain and would like to continue to be mobile for the next 40 years. I’m proud of you for getting diagnosed and taking the steps to make your body stronger.

This week I read Ragdoll by Daniel Cole. I loved the mystery of how the detectives had to discover who the 6 bodies parts belonged and why they were targeted. The first half had a chokehold on me. The last half…a little disappointing. I don’t think I’ll continue the series but I would recommend to readers of Nadine Matheson and Chris Carter.

I’m also working my way through Story Genius. I struggle to read craft books because I get too excited and want to go back to my book and never finish! So my goal is to make it a priority book for Feb.

Tonight I’m starting How I’ll Kill You by Ren DeStefano.

Cheers to a new month! 💜

Expand full comment

🤦🏻‍♀️ This needs an edit button

Expand full comment
Feb 2Liked by J.T. Ellison

I am reading The Fragile Threads of Power by V.E. Schwab. (Need to see/watch your conversation!) Also reading Clouded Waters by MN author Dianna Hunter.

For notebooks, I'm having the weirdest luck with a steno notebook I bought at Office Max. I've been keeping my current WIP notes there along with some journaling. It just feels good.

Keep taking care, JT.

Expand full comment
Feb 3Liked by J.T. Ellison

All of this was such a great reminder that slow is also forward. I set myself up for some pretty fast deadlines, while finishing my degree, being a mom, training for a marathon, and trying to move into a new genre all within 2023. And I don't know how I'm still standing. Definitely craving that slow you're talking about! So my goal this year was to say "no" more.

I recently moved into a Archer and Olive traveler's size notebook for book notes. Works really well for my Intrigues. Not so much for my thrillers. Will need to find something bigger for those!

Expand full comment

Reading: THE THIRD TO DIE by Allison Brennan (and yay it’s fantastic and the first in a series).

I’m a Bullet Journal gal, also A5. Always best when I can write things down.

Expand full comment

We can compare for sure!

Expand full comment

I have used fountain pens for many, many years and love writing with them. However, I have had trouble finding journals, planners, Moleskines, etc., where the ink does not bleed through. I typically use a fine nib but still no luck. Any thoughts or experiences? Have a lovely Sunday, J.T.

Expand full comment

I love the idea of giving up Social Media for Lent. 👏👏

Expand full comment