25 Comments
Jan 26Liked by J.T. Ellison

I read Divine Rivals by Rebecca Ross. This was an interesting book and just a little different. I liked it and I need to read the second book...however, I got distracted by the new JD Robb book Random in Death. Excellent book as always from JD/Nora. She just can do no wrong in my book!!

I'm pretty much over being sick and I read a lot more this week!

Expand full comment
Jan 26Liked by J.T. Ellison

It's been a busy reading time for me as the hubs was traveling all week. (That means I stay up way too late to read just one more page and die when I have to get the kids up early for school. You think I'd learn but no it's always a rinse and repeat routine.) I finished reading THE FIRST LIE WINS by Ashley Elst, and I did not predict the twist like I thought I had. I love being surprised by books. So, a win there. I also read THE HEIRESS by Rachel Hawkins. It's a yarn ball of twists, atmosphere, and spunk. I loved the different format of it. It's told in dual POV with additional chapters dedicated to news stories and letters. The last book I read was completely different than the other two, but it was also a winner. ALL THE SINNERS BLEED by S.A. Cosby. I'd classify this one as a dark southern gothic with a hint of charm because of the main character's relationship with his dad. (Spoiler, it's not all good between them. Their relationship is raw and real.)

The funny thing is that all three of these books have been set at least partially in the south. My friend who is from Franklin, Tennesse (or maybe it's Franklin County. Not 100% sure) is trying to get me to move there when we retire. She says Texas is really not the south. As someone who has lived mostly in the west, I have no idea if she's right or not, but I can tell you that these books are different than the south I'm experiencing. Maybe it's because I live in a bigger city.

Expand full comment
Jan 26Liked by J.T. Ellison

It sounds like we have really similar writing rhythms. During lockdown I replaced my commute with reading and it was (weirdly, given the circumstances) such an ideal way to ease into the day that I've tried to keep it up as much as possible. So much better to start the day with words on a page than words on a screen, small as that distinction may seem. At the moment I'm switching back and forth from Nick Kent's THE DARK STUFF as I gear up for my first round of in-house edits on HOT WAX, and reading Mariana Enríquez's OUR SHARE OF NIGHT on a friend's recommendation--it's a dense, literary-historical horror unlike anything I've ever really read. It does "slow suspense" (is that a thing?) really, really well.

Expand full comment

I've been debating on The Heiress...this might be the push I need.

This week I read an early copy of my friend Jennifer's new book set to be released next year (it's fantastic!). I love my writing group and learning so much them; they are all published authors with multiple books under their belts and it's a masterclass in how to write, revise, and critique.

My fun life updates...I went back to my full time job this week after a LOA and am still camping in the living room in my new house, so reading has been on the backburner, but I will be listening to THE SILENCE IN HER EYES by Armando Lucas Correa as I unpack! This book is a thriller/suspense translated from Spanish and I'm itching to dive in.

And not reading news...but related. I am officially shelving Book 1. I've had a good number of full requests and all have been rejected with some similar feedback, which tells me it's the book. It was a learning tool and a healing tool (inspired by real life events that happened to my family and I was very angry at the time of writing..). Now I'm fully engrossed into Book 2 which I plan to pitch this summer!

Can't wait for the next edition of 22 Steps! Have a happy Friday!

Expand full comment
Jan 26Liked by J.T. Ellison

So it’s been a week. There will be lots of drinking tonight and I’ll save the reading for tomorrow. I’m starting Jesmyn Ward’s newest book.

Expand full comment

Ooh I love Hawkins. Gotta put The Heiress on my list pronto.

I’m a few chapters into Olga Dies Dreaming by Xochitl Gonzalez on audiobook and it is fantastic! I think I expected something grimmer from the title, and it does have a serious undercurrent of racial inequities and how they shape a person’s relationships, but it’s also witty and clever and involves wedding planner shenanigans.

Expand full comment
Jan 27Liked by J.T. Ellison

A little late posting this. It was my first four day week back at work, and I am wiped out. It’s been 13 weeks now since I broke my shoulder. Onto the books!

The Good House by Tananarive Due

Out of the Blue by Jason June

The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn by Amber Logan

Past Crimes by Jason Pinter

The London Séance Society by Sarah Penner

Starling House by Alix E. Harrow

Expand full comment

I'm just reading my clients' books this week and giving development/editing notes, and the same for a friend who just finished his draft of a new book. 🤗🤗🩵

Expand full comment