37 Comments

I love your lists!🤗 And 65 books is a lot to read in a year. 🥳 ~ I've been just cleaning up my computer files. My iPad. My phone. And I didn't read one book in the past many days, but I did read some lovely magazines. ~ Happy New Year!🥂🩷

Expand full comment
author

I feel like I totally slacked off on the reading this year, but I’m fixing that next year. Dedicated reading time during the work day, because reading makes me a better writer, and that is my business, right?

What’s your favorite magazine? I’m a huge Architectural Digest fan…

Expand full comment

I think sixty-five books is very impressive. 😃 I'm a slow reader. ~ I love Architectural Digest. My favorite magazine is called Flow. They used to have an English edition, but not anymore. Now they only have a Dutch and German edition. I read the German one. I also enjoy The Simple Things. (UK)

Expand full comment

Oh, I forgot Architectual Digest on YouTube is a lovely procrastination tool.😇

Expand full comment
author

It *is* a lot…but not for me. I’m a fast-ish reader, but I’ve been very distracted this year. And thank you for the tip… I haven’t found that particular rabbit hole yet…

Expand full comment

Ooh, I love your organized tabs!!! How did you do that? I didn't know it was an option!

Expand full comment
author

In your settings, there’s a function to add Tags to Navigation, instead of creating new Pages. It is a beautiful and handy solution and I am in love. A real @Substack upgrade.

Look under the Navigation and Tags section. I live for tagging, it’s how I manage everything, so to find it here was thrilling.

Expand full comment

Well that’s #1 on my January to-do list now, thank you for the tip!

Expand full comment
author
Dec 29, 2023·edited Dec 29, 2023Author

You’re welcome! I saw Emily Ley’s gorgeousness and set out to imitate. Emma Gannon has it too.

Expand full comment

Who knew!? Thank you, J.T. Love Emma’s Substack. You two are the first ones I read ❤️

Expand full comment
author

Hi KR - I love Emma’s too. I’ve been exploring her multi-hyphenate concepts…

Expand full comment

I just started reading The Frozen River and though I'm only a short way in, I'm entranced. Thanks for the recommendation.

Expand full comment
author

I can’t wait to hear what you think. It’s is ridiculously compelling. @ariel lawhon is brilliant.

Expand full comment

I keep hearing so much about Divine Rivals. How will you do your list here for 2024?

Expand full comment
author

Oh it is really good. It took a bit to get into, but once I did I haven’t been able to put it down.

I just realized that I can export the Goodreads list, so I might try that for next week. But I think just keeping a running list in a Draft post as I read, then the hard part will be done. I am very much into finding the path of least resistance this year.

Expand full comment

Sounds like a plan. I will be following with interest.

Expand full comment
Dec 29, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I read 2 books this week and both were new to me authors.

The Wishing Game by Meg Shaffer. An author of children's books, sets up a contest to win his new and unreleased book. It was a good book.

Into the Churn by Hayley Reese Chow. This is science fiction and there's a second book coming in the spring (I think). Its about a race (think Amazing Race with teenagers across a baren planet) I really enjoyed it!

My goal was to read 100 books this year and I made it! I'm currently at 106. I'm a very fast reader and we're empty nesters, so I probably have more time than some.

I'm intrigued by Divine Rivals...I will have to check it out.

Happy New Year!!

Expand full comment
author

Those both look great. I added The Wishing Game to my wishlist. Thank you! Hope you had a blast with the g-kids over the holidays!

Expand full comment
Dec 29, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

We had 19 people and 3 dogs here last Sat. My house is a mess but we had such a good time. Glad I have another long weekend to recuperate...lol

Expand full comment
author

It sounds like an absolute riot!

Expand full comment
Dec 29, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I had Covid over Christmas and didn’t read much but I’m currently reading THE SERPENT AND THE WINGS OF NIGHT by Carissa Broadbent. I’m only in the beginning but it’s giving me all the feels that I experienced while reading FOURTH WING. It’s gory so not for all readers but it is about Vampires fighting to the death to win the ultimate prize and the one human woman who hopes to beat them all.

Expand full comment
Dec 29, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Oh and I love lists. Thank you for sharing.

Expand full comment
author

OK, I started it, and it felt *really* dark, so I put it aside. Should I stick with it? I know it's been blowing up the lists...

Expand full comment
Dec 29, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I’m only on chapter 9 but I can let you know next Friday if I continued or not.

Expand full comment
author

Great, thank you! I'm so sorry about the COVID. Hope you're feeling better!

Expand full comment
Dec 29, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I just looked up this book and it looks right up my alley...purchasing now.

You had me at Fourth Wing feels!

Expand full comment
author

OK now both of you must report in, if you please...

Expand full comment

I finished this book last night and it was amazing! It is violent and a little dark, but it didn't bother me. The twist at the end really got me! I've purchased the next book and the novella that is suggested you read between the 2 books. It reminds me of the Hunger Games and Throne of Glass.

Thanks for the reccomendation!!

Expand full comment

Let me know what you think.

Expand full comment

Charlotte, Thanks for sharing your list. I rarely read fiction these days, but should I be so inclined, I appreciate the recommendations.

Expand full comment
author

Sandra, we need more non-fiction options, so please don’t hesitate to share!

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Horror Movie by Paul Tremblay

The Prophecy of Wind by Joss Walker and R.L. Perez

What Feasts at Night by T. Kingfisher

Murder Road by Simone St. James

Oracle by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Expand full comment
author

I see a few fabulous options here... How’s Paul’s book? Is it scary? And I’m jealous about Simone St James. She’s amazing.

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Paul's book is unsettling and creepy. Simone is fairly new to me and this one is really good! That Joss isn't bad either 😉

Expand full comment
author

I’m a bit partial… Simone is awesome sauce!

Expand full comment
Dec 31, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Currently reading Bookshops and Bonedust. I LOVED Divine Rivals and can’t wait to read Ruthless Vows!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Kim-I finished DR last night and in a flurry of shock immediately bought Ruthless Vows. What an ending!

Expand full comment