16 Comments
Dec 22, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I read Midnight Creed by Alex Kava. I love this series and it has dogs! I'm a cat person, but the dogs are so great in this series!

I also just finished My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan. I resisted reading this until now as I was under the impression it had a sad ending and I'm just not into that...I'm so glad I finally read it as it was amazing!

Happy holidays! I have all 9 grandkids coming this weekend (with their parents), so we'll have a house full!!

Expand full comment
author

Oh, wonderful choices! Alex’s books are perennial favorites. And I loved Julia’s book. Have you read THANK YOU FOR LISTENING? Also wonderful!

Have so much fun in your VERY full house! That sounds like an absolute delight!

Expand full comment

I did read Thank You for Listening and I really enjoyed it!

Expand full comment

I loved My Oxford Year.🤗

Expand full comment
author

Julia is amazing. A good friend and a super talented artist!

Expand full comment

Wishing you and your family a blessed and magical Christmas. 🎄♥️🎉

Expand full comment
author

You too! Hope you’ve been able to set down roots?

Expand full comment

Oh, that's a whole other subject. 🙈😃I can't explain it in a few words... it just has been such a baffling and unpredictable year. And it seems never to stop. ~ Despite everything, I'm determined to make 2024 MY YEAR OF WRITING.🤗🩷

Expand full comment
author

I will stand behind that for you!!!

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Horror Movie by Paul Tremblay

Math for English Majors: And Other Non-native Speakers by Ben Orlin

The Angel of Indian Lake by Stephen Graham Jones

The New Couple in 5B by Lisa Unger

The Keeper of Flames by

Joss Walker and R.L. Perez

Christmas and Other Horrors: An Anthology of Solstice Horror

Expand full comment
author

Oh, the horror of Christmas… very fun!

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

It's a great collection! Happy Holidays!

Expand full comment

I just finished CLASS by Stephanie Land and am halfway through LESS by Andrew Sean Greer, which will probably complete my 2023 reading year, though I’ve gotten a lot of great suggestions through commenters on this post, so I might squeeze in one more before 2024... https://open.substack.com/pub/sarahknightauthor/p/my-year-in-books?r=4iva&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=web

Expand full comment
author

Well hey there! So great to see you! And thanks for the inspiration for the year end list - that’s a great idea. Love yours. I’ve been looking for a better system than Goodreads—imagine… a list! Happy New Year!

Expand full comment

Same to you! 🎊🎊🎊

Expand full comment