25 Comments
founding
Nov 3, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

This weekend i am wrapping up ‘Divine Rivals’ by Rebecca Ross. I blocked off time during my work day to read ‘Iron Flame’ on Tuesday. Very excited for that to release. I also have the new ‘Guardians’ to read from Joss, 😉 as well as the new installment of the ‘Shady Hollow’ series releasing next week by Juneau Black plus their Halloween short story from a week or two ago! I have a few arc’s from NetGalley to get into, and another blog tour book from an inquiry on my personal site/blog. 😊

Expand full comment
author

I’m looking at that on my shelf... really need to read it! We should have a Tuesday open thread to talk IF...

Expand full comment
founding

I think that’s a great idea!

Expand full comment
author

Hope you enjoy GOF too!!!

Expand full comment
Nov 3, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I can't wait for the Iron Flame. Fourth Wing was amazing!!

I just finished Dirty Thirty by Janet Evanovich and it was super fun as always!

Expand full comment
author

She’s so fun. Can’t wait for Tuesday.

Expand full comment

Okay, I guess I better hop on the Rebecca Yarrow bandwagon. I'm just never sure I'm going to like fantasy. But I love that she used to be a women's fiction writer, so I guess I better check her out. I just finished an old title, Goodnight, June, by Sarah Jio and I liked it a lot. I have Ava Glass's most recent female spy thriller, The Traitor, waiting for me at the library so I'm going to pick that up this weekend!

Expand full comment
author

You had me at female spy thriller... there’s a dearth of them!

Expand full comment

It's my new favorite genre. I wish there were more!

Expand full comment
Nov 3, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I've read a couple of Yarrows romance books and I think Fourrh Wing is better....but I also really like fantasy as well...so maybe I'm not that impartial...lol

Expand full comment
author

I have her latest romance but haven’t tried it.

Expand full comment
Nov 3, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Re-reading All The Light We Cannot See. Looking forward to see if the Book was better. Netflix has a limited series. I’m loving the textures in his writing. I can just picture the setting. This is definitely not a fast read, but one that needs pondering. Not to mention the number of times that I stop to look something up. A great way to learn.

Expand full comment
author

I haven’t read that yet. But want to before I watch the show.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Currently reading The Unmaking of June Farrow. I’m going to and Iron Flame release party at my local bookstore. So excited!

Expand full comment
author

I have that up next! Love Adrienne's work so much.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

Buzzed through Beirut Station by Paul Vidich this week. So timely since I seem to have forgotten what I once learned about this area. Characters from Russia, America, Israel, and the other Middle East countries. This was a fast read full of double spies, carefully planned murders, senseless random death, big secrets, and names that are still in the news. And I could “feel” Beirut and its losses. Rich with food, culture, religions, climate, and politics of the day. The wartime presence of imminent death in Beirut provided a drumbeat of dread throughout the story. This was a hardback; I’m ready for something on Kindle next. Do you ever change up formats on purpose?

Expand full comment
author

You know, I started that book and walked away, but in light of current events, I think I'll give it another try!

Expand full comment
author

And yes, I change formats all the time, depending on what room I'm in, what I'm doing, etc. From print to digital to audio and back again...

Expand full comment
Nov 5, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I started Shadow and Bone this week on audio. And on your reco I got Fourth Wing audiobook from the library. Finished it a couple of weeks ago and I’ve already preordered Iron Flame.

Expand full comment
author

Wasn't it so much fun! I love the Grishaverse, too. Brilliant world building.

Expand full comment

I had wanted to read it before watching the Netflix version of it but there are too many books and I'm so behind. :)

I am really enjoying the narration. That always helps me set the scene.

Expand full comment

Currently reading Before My Actual Heart Breaks by Tish Delaney and it’s destroying me! Also Black Chameleon by Deborah DEEP Mouton for Seventy Years of Books.

Expand full comment
author

OK Black Chameleon looks so cool! I think we often forget that our mythologies aren't universal. A great reminder.

Expand full comment

It’s so good and so interesting. The similarities and differences with The Palm Wine Drinkard will make some great content. 😊

Expand full comment