30 Comments
Jan 12Liked by J.T. Ellison

Just started reading BULL'S EYE (Kate Fox #8) by Shannon Baker, and ONE WRONG WORD by Hank Phillippi Ryan (ARC).

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 12Liked by J.T. Ellison

I am reading all of Agatha Christie’s works in 2024 - a big task but one I am loving so far! I just wrapped up “The Man in the Brown Suit” and now moving on to the Poirot Investigates short stories! -- also working on finishing some NetGalley arcs for review 🤓

Expand full comment
Jan 12Liked by J.T. Ellison

Here in Southeast Nebraska, we're in the middle of our second snow storm this week. We received around 7 to 8 inches of heavy, wet snow Mon and Tues. Last night and today we're receiving a light powdery snow and will more than likely be another 7 to 8 inches. We also have up to 45 mph wind gusts blowing everything around. So glad I can work remotely.

Between the weather, I've been battling a cold, so I didn't read as much.

I read Six Scorched Rose's by Carissa Broadbent. This is a novella between the first and second book.

I'm about a quarter of the way through the 2nd book, The Ashes and the Star Cursed King. So far, it's not near as violent as the first book...and I'm sure I'll love it just as much as the first book!

Expand full comment

This weekend, I will continue my slow read of War & Peace as well as Abbi Waxman’s The Bookish Life of Nina Hill and Maya Angelou’s Hallelujah The Welcome Table.

Expand full comment
Jan 12Liked by J.T. Ellison

I'm re-reading BIRD BY BIRD by Anne Lamott, and I can't help but think about the story that inspired the title of the book. I'm holding onto getting things done right now by the saying bird by bird, hoping that one thing done at a time will get me there. I'm also reading Ariel Lawton's FROZEN RIVER. Oh my, where do I start? The writing is superb and the story compelling. You're immediately immersed into the world. As a previous nursing major, I love how vivid her midwife scene is, and how I was quickly agreeing with Mistress Ballard's thoughts and observations. It's a lesson in providing emotional moments while keeping the plot moving forward at a great pace.

Expand full comment
Jan 12Liked by J.T. Ellison

Shutter by Ramona Emerson

The Good House by Tananarive Due

The Seventh Veil of Salome by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Oracle by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Slay by Laurell K. Hamilton

Ghost Eaters by Clay McLeod Chapman

Expand full comment
Jan 12Liked by J.T. Ellison

I’m about halfway through an arc of Kendra Elliot’s At The River.

Expand full comment

I finished WELLNESS by Nathan Hill (🤯🤯🤯) and am now on to ONE OF THE GOOD GUYS by Araminta Hall.

Expand full comment