12 Comments
Oct 27, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

I finished The Woman in Me by Britney Spears last night.

I was 30 when she hit it big and i wasn't a big fan of pop music. However, I started following her on Instagram during the whole Free Britney movement.

I feel confident that she actually wrote it as it's similar to her Instagram posts. Not always proper English, or punctuation and many run on sentences. Someone obviously helped her organize it into a book.

I was pleasantly surprised. It was really good and I read it in ONE Dat!

The lack of support and absolute abuse she went through is heartbreaking. She really was/is a pioneer.

Expand full comment

Great to hear good news! I recommend Judy Reeves "When Your Heart Says Go," a brillant memoir. About love, loss, and the healing powers of travel and writing.

Expand full comment

Just finished rereading my latest draft in prep for the next revision and Harrison Scott Key’s “How to Stay Married” which I have intensely complicated feelings about. I am halfway through Bret Lott’s writing craft book called “Before We Get Started,” and am desperately in need of an absorbing, fun, maybe even cozy novel to round out October!

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2023Liked by J.T. Ellison

This week I returned to reading KNOW MY NAME by Chanel Miller. She's the victim of assault by a Stanford student. I was in Northern California with family when the verdict came out and we were all shocked by it. Even my in law who works in administration for Stanford felt the same way. This is going to be a slow read because I have a lot of heavy things besides the chaos in the world happening in my life right now. Like Kristine Neeley, I need a good, fun read.

Expand full comment

One Woman Show sounds intriguing. I have to check it out. I'm so behind with my reading... or with about everything. 🙈 Too much traveling, it's tome to settle somewhere. ☺️

Expand full comment